Drop your signature scan here
or browse your files
UPPSC asks for 6 × 3 cm in black ball point pen. This holds the shape and checks the ink — UPPSC is stricter here than most, blue included.
or browse your files
| Dimensions | 6 cm wide × 3 cm high — landscape, unlike the photo |
|---|---|
| Ink | Black ball point pen |
| Recency | Latest signature |
| File size | Not stated in the OTR manual |
| DPI | Not stated |
| Uploaded | Once, into your OTR profile, then reused for every application |
UPPSC's upload control reads “Select a latest Signature in Black ball point pen”, and its diagram marks the signature box 6 cm wide and 3 cm tall.
UPPSC is specific, and these are its own words. The applicant has to sign in full in the box provided; since the signature is proof of identity, it must be genuine and in full, and initials are not sufficient. A signature in CAPITAL LETTERS is not permitted. It must be signed only by the applicant and not by any other person.
And it follows you: the signature is put on your Hall Ticket, and UPPSC states that if your signature on the answer script does not match the one on the Hall Ticket at the time of the examination, you will be disqualified. Upload the signature you habitually sign, not a tidier version produced for the form.
Most commissions say nothing at all about ink, and on those pages we refuse to invent a rule. UPPSC names one, so this page checks it — and UPPSC is stricter than its neighbours. Punjab accepts a black or blue ink pen; UPPSC asks for black ball point. So a blue signature that would pass in Punjab is flagged here.
We cannot tell you what UPPSC does with a blue signature, because the manual states the requirement without stating a consequence. What we can say is that re-signing in black costs you a minute now, and that your OTR modifications are capped at six.
UPPSC publishes its requirements across two documents, which is why so many pages get this half right. The One Time Registration user manual carries the diagram giving the centimetres and the instruction to select a latest coloured photo and a signature in black ball point pen. A second document, Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature, carries the table with everything else.
| Photo | Signature | |
|---|---|---|
| Size | Less than 50 KB | Less than 30 KB |
| Dimension | 5 cm wide × 6 cm high | 6 cm wide × 3 cm high |
| DPI setting | 200 DPI | 200 DPI |
| True colour | Yes | Yes |
The two documents agree on the centimetres, which is a good sign. And because the DPI is stated as well, the pixel size is no longer a matter of opinion: 5 × 6 cm at 200 DPI is 394 × 472 px, and 6 × 3 cm is 472 × 236 px. That is what this tool produces.
It also settles a figure you will see elsewhere. Several pages publish 180 × 216 for the UPPSC photograph and 216 × 108 for the signature. Those work out to roughly 92 DPI at UPPSC's own centimetres — less than half the resolution the Commission asks for.
What neither document states is a minimum file size. Both give ceilings only, so nothing here is padded to reach a floor. And note the signature carries rules of its own beyond the numbers: it must be your full signature, initials are not sufficient and capitals are not permitted — details are on the signature page.
One note on UPPSC's own method: it tells you to paste the photograph on white paper, sign in the space provided, scan the sheet once, then crop twice. If you have done that, feed the same scan to this page and to the signature page, cropping differently each time.
Your photograph and signature go into the One Time Registration profile once and are then reused for every application you ever make to UPPSC. That makes three things in the manual worth knowing before you upload.
Some fields can never be changed. The manual states that the mobile number, email ID and home state entered by the candidate cannot be modified under the One Time Registration process, and asks you to verify the mobile and email yourself before entering details.
Modifications are counted. The amendment screen shows a running total — in the manual's own screenshot, “Your modification attempt(s) 0 are utilized and you have only 6 attempt(s) are left for modification”. Replacing a bad photograph is not free; it spends one of them.
Lock and Final Submit is the end of editing. The manual is explicit: once you complete the Lock and Final Submit segment, you would not be able to modify the entered information. You also cannot apply for any advertised post until you have locked. So the photograph and signature need to be right before you lock, not after.
And if you change your OTR after already applying for something, the change does not reach the submitted form by itself. The manual describes clicking Sync Your Data With OTR Server and then Sync App Data under the applied post — and adds that amendments to an application form can only be made after the fee for that post has been paid.
One letter apart, and the two specifications have nothing in common. UPSC is the Union Public Service Commission at upsc.gov.in, the national body running the Civil Services Examination. UPPSC is the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission at uppsc.up.nic.in, running the state PCS.
UPSC's one-time registration asks for a square photograph and signature, between 350 × 350 and 1000 × 1000 pixels, with its own rules about the name and date and a live photo capture step. UPPSC asks for 5 × 6 cm and 6 × 3 cm. A file prepared for one is wrong for the other in shape, in size and in what has to be written on it. If you came here searching for “UPSC photo size”, our UPSC page is here.
UPPSC is also not UPSSSC, the Uttar Pradesh Subordinate Services Selection Commission at upsssc.gov.in. UPPSC runs the PCS; UPSSSC runs PET and Group C recruitment. They have separate one-time registrations with different requirements, and registering on one does nothing for the other.
Same application, different file. Each has its own limits — they are not interchangeable.
6 cm wide by 3 cm high. That is from the labelled diagram on the 'Applicant's photo and signature' panel in UPPSC's One Time Registration user manual, where the signature box is marked 6 cm across and 3 cm down. Note it is landscape - wider than tall - while the photograph is portrait.
Black ball point pen. The upload control in the manual reads 'Select a latest Signature in Black ball point pen'. That is more specific than most commissions and stricter than neighbouring Punjab, which accepts black or blue. This tool measures the hue of your strokes and tells you if they read as blue or another colour.
We cannot tell you that - the manual states the requirement but not the consequence. What we can say is that UPPSC asked for black ball point specifically, so a blue signature does not match what was asked for, and re-signing costs you nothing compared with finding out later. The tool flags it rather than silently accepting it.
Less than 30 KB, scanned at 200 DPI in true colour. That is from UPPSC's Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature - a separate document from the OTR user manual, which gives only the centimetres and the ink instruction. At 6 x 3 cm and 200 DPI the signature works out to 472 x 236 pixels.
No. UPPSC states that the signature must be genuine and in full, that initials are not sufficient, and that a signature in CAPITAL LETTERS is not permitted. It also states the signature must be signed only by the applicant and by no other person.
UPPSC puts your signature on the Hall Ticket. Its wording is that if the applicant's signature on the answer script does not match the signature on the Hall Ticket at the time of the examination, the applicant will be disqualified. So upload the signature you actually and habitually sign, not a neater version made for the form.
Six modifications in total across your OTR details - the amendment screen shows the count, and the manual's screenshot reads that you have only 6 attempts left. After Lock and Final Submit you cannot modify the entered information at all, and you cannot apply for a post until you have locked.
Yes. The manual lists it among the benefits of one-time registration: applicants need to upload photo and signature only once. The image you upload here is carried into every UPPSC application you make.
No. UPSC is the Union Public Service Commission at upsc.gov.in; UPPSC is the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission at uppsc.up.nic.in. UPSC's registration wants a square image of 350x350 to 1000x1000 pixels. UPPSC wants 6 x 3 cm for the signature. UPPSC is also not UPSSSC, a separate Uttar Pradesh body.
No. The trim, the ink measurement and the compression all run in your browser on your own device. Your signature image is never transmitted.
Requirements on this page are quoted from two official Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission documents. The One Time Registration user manual for the NIC e-Pariksha platform, linked from the OTR section of uppsc.up.nic.in, supplies the centimetres (from the labelled diagram on its Step-1 form) and the upload-control wording. “Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature” supplies the file-size table, the 200 DPI setting, the true-colour requirement and the signature identity rules. The two agree on the dimensions.
Neither document states a minimum file size, so nothing here is padded. Because both the centimetres and the DPI are stated, the pixel size follows exactly: 394×472 for the photograph and 472×236 for the signature. Figures of 180×216 and 216×108 circulate for UPPSC and work out to roughly 92 DPI — less than half what the Commission asks for.
Neither document carries a version number. This is UPPSC, the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission. It is not UPSC, the Union Public Service Commission (upsc.gov.in), whose specification is completely different, and not UPSSSC. We are not affiliated with any of them.