Drop your photograph here
or browse your files
Hits KPSC's 50 KB to 200 KB band — including the 50 KB floor, which is where most photos fail. KPSC publishes no pixel size, so this tool does not invent one.
or browse your files
| File size | 50 KB to 200 KB |
|---|---|
| Format | JPEG |
| Dimensions | Not stated |
| DPI | Not stated |
| Background | Not stated |
| Source | Fetched from Aadhaar / Ration Card / Kutumba; you may upload a recent photograph instead |
KPSC's wording, from the upload field itself: “Photo Size Minimum 50KB to Maximum 200KB”, and from the manual: “Recent photograph in JPEG format, with a file size between 50KB to 200KB”.
This is worth saying clearly because it is unusual. Most commissions give you centimetres — TGPSC asks for 3.5 × 4.5 cm, APPSC the same, GATE publishes sample images. KPSC gives a format and two numbers. There is no pixel size, no DPI, no aspect ratio and no background colour anywhere in the applicant manual.
So this tool does not lock your crop to a ratio, and it does not tell you your photo is the wrong shape, because KPSC has not said what shape it should be. The crop box drags freely. What the tool does enforce is the only thing KPSC actually specified: the size band.
The 200 × 230 figure that circulates for KPSC comes from the IBPS and SBI banking template, which is the same pair of numbers we have now found copied onto five different commissions. It is not a KPSC figure.
200 KB is generous — almost nothing needs compressing to get under it. 50 KB is the number that bites. A head-and-shoulders photo against a plain wall, cropped small, is exactly the kind of image JPEG handles best, and it will land at 15–30 KB without trying. That file is rejected, and the message you get back will not say the problem was that it was too small.
Because KPSC states no dimensions, the honest fix is resolution. This tool keeps your photograph large enough that it clears 50 KB with real detail in it, rather than inflating a small image with padding. If your crop is so tight that even a high-quality encode stays under the floor, it says so and tells you to crop wider or start from a larger original.
kpsc.kar.nic.in is the commission's main website. kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in is the application portal, and it is the one these figures come from. KPSC's own homepage carries the notice that it has started a new web application for all new notifications, that candidates should register at kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in, and that anyone registered on the previous websites needs to re-register on the new one.
This matters for what you will read elsewhere. Figures of 20–50 KB for the photograph and 10–20 KB for the signature are still widely republished for KPSC. They belong to the older flow. The portal documented in the current manual asks for 50–200 KB and 50–70 KB, which are not merely different numbers but different in kind — a file built to the old figures is guaranteed to fail the new floor.
Two commissions answer to KPSC. This page is Karnataka Public Service Commission, whose main site is kpsc.kar.nic.in and whose application portal is kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in. The Kerala Public Service Commission is at keralapsc.gov.in and publishes its own contact address as kpsc.psc@kerala.gov.in, so the abbreviation is genuinely shared rather than a mix-up by outsiders. Kerala runs an entirely separate one-time-registration profile with its own upload rules. Nothing on this page applies there.
Same application, different file. Each has its own limits — they are not interchangeable.
Between 50 KB and 200 KB, in JPEG format. Those are the figures in the KPSC UDYOGA applicant manual, version 1.4 dated 18 June 2026, and they are repeated on the upload field itself, which reads that the photo size is minimum 50KB to maximum 200KB.
None are published. The manual gives a format and a size band and stops. No pixel dimensions, no DPI, no aspect ratio, no background colour. This is unusual and worth stating plainly: for KPSC the file size is the whole specification. Any page quoting you a pixel size for KPSC has taken it from somewhere else, most often the 200 by 230 banking-exam template.
Because 50 KB is a high floor for a small image. If you crop tightly to your face and save at a moderate quality, a portrait lands at 15 to 30 KB very easily, and the portal rejects it for being too small without saying so. Since KPSC states no dimensions, the fix is resolution: this tool keeps the image large enough that the file clears 50 KB honestly rather than padding it.
50 KB to 200 KB, for the current portal. The 20-50 KB figures belong to the older KPSC application flow and are still widely republished. KPSC's own homepage says it has started a new web application for all new notifications and that candidates registered on previous websites need to re-register at kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in. A file built to the old numbers fails the new floor.
Possibly not. The manual notes that your photograph is fetched directly from Aadhaar, Ration Card or Kutumba, and then asks whether you would like to upload a recent photograph instead. So the upload is offered as a replacement for the fetched image rather than always being required. If the fetched photo is old or wrong, this is where you replace it.
For the photograph, signature and identity proof, the manual says JPEG. For educational qualification, reservation, experience and PH documents it says PDF only, maximum 2 MB, with multiple documents merged into a single PDF. KPSC splits its uploads by type more sharply than most commissions, so check which slot you are filling.
No. Both use the abbreviation KPSC. This page is Karnataka Public Service Commission at kpsc.kar.nic.in and kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in. Kerala Public Service Commission is at keralapsc.gov.in, publishes its contact address as kpsc.psc@kerala.gov.in, and has its own separate registration profile and upload rules.
No. The crop and the compression run in your browser on your own device. Your photograph is never transmitted.
Requirements on this page are quoted from the “KPSC UDYOGA” Applicant User manual, version 1.4, updated 18 June 2026, published by the Karnataka Public Service Commission and available from the USER MANUAL tab on its application portal at kpsconline.karnataka.gov.in (file name User_Manual_For_Applicant.pdf). KPSC states a file format and a size band with both a minimum and a maximum; it states no pixel size, no DPI, no aspect ratio and no ink colour.
The manual governs the applicant profile across notifications, but an individual recruitment notification may restate these figures, so check the one you are applying under. KPSC’s main website is kpsc.kar.nic.in; applications are made on the portal above, and figures of 20–50 KB circulating for KPSC belong to the older flow. This is Karnataka PSC, not Kerala PSC (keralapsc.gov.in), which shares the abbreviation and has a different specification. We are not affiliated with either.