Runs in your browser · nothing uploaded

UPPSC photo resizer

Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission · Uttar Pradesh — not UPSC (Union) or UPSSSC

Holds UPPSC's published 5 × 6 cm and reports the DPI you actually get. The OTR manual states no KB limit, so nothing here invents one.

🖼️

Drop your photograph here

or browse your files

    Locked to UPPSC's 5 × 6 cm shape. It must be your latest photograph, and in colour.

    Your photo is ready

    Processed locally — it never left your device.

    Download photo.jpg
    Your photograph is processed on your device and is never sent to any server.

    UPPSC photograph requirements

    Dimensions5 cm wide × 6 cm high
    ColourColoured, and it must be the latest photograph
    File sizeNot stated in the OTR manual
    DPINot stated
    FormatNot stated
    UploadedOnce, into your OTR profile, then reused for every application

    UPPSC's diagram labels the photo box “width = 5 cm” and “Height = 6 cm”, and the upload control reads “Select a latest coloured photo”.

    The numbers, and where each one comes from

    UPPSC publishes its requirements across two documents, which is why so many pages get this half right. The One Time Registration user manual carries the diagram giving the centimetres and the instruction to select a latest coloured photo and a signature in black ball point pen. A second document, Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature, carries the table with everything else.

     PhotoSignature
    SizeLess than 50 KBLess than 30 KB
    Dimension5 cm wide × 6 cm high6 cm wide × 3 cm high
    DPI setting200 DPI200 DPI
    True colourYesYes

    The two documents agree on the centimetres, which is a good sign. And because the DPI is stated as well, the pixel size is no longer a matter of opinion: 5 × 6 cm at 200 DPI is 394 × 472 px, and 6 × 3 cm is 472 × 236 px. That is what this tool produces.

    It also settles a figure you will see elsewhere. Several pages publish 180 × 216 for the UPPSC photograph and 216 × 108 for the signature. Those work out to roughly 92 DPI at UPPSC's own centimetres — less than half the resolution the Commission asks for.

    What neither document states is a minimum file size. Both give ceilings only, so nothing here is padded to reach a floor. And note the signature carries rules of its own beyond the numbers: it must be your full signature, initials are not sufficient and capitals are not permitted — details are on the signature page.

    One note on UPPSC's own method: it tells you to paste the photograph on white paper, sign in the space provided, scan the sheet once, then crop twice. If you have done that, feed the same scan to this page and to the signature page, cropping differently each time.

    The OTR rules that actually catch people

    Your photograph and signature go into the One Time Registration profile once and are then reused for every application you ever make to UPPSC. That makes three things in the manual worth knowing before you upload.

    Some fields can never be changed. The manual states that the mobile number, email ID and home state entered by the candidate cannot be modified under the One Time Registration process, and asks you to verify the mobile and email yourself before entering details.

    Modifications are counted. The amendment screen shows a running total — in the manual's own screenshot, “Your modification attempt(s) 0 are utilized and you have only 6 attempt(s) are left for modification”. Replacing a bad photograph is not free; it spends one of them.

    Lock and Final Submit is the end of editing. The manual is explicit: once you complete the Lock and Final Submit segment, you would not be able to modify the entered information. You also cannot apply for any advertised post until you have locked. So the photograph and signature need to be right before you lock, not after.

    And if you change your OTR after already applying for something, the change does not reach the submitted form by itself. The manual describes clicking Sync Your Data With OTR Server and then Sync App Data under the applied post — and adds that amendments to an application form can only be made after the fee for that post has been paid.

    UPPSC is not UPSC

    One letter apart, and the two specifications have nothing in common. UPSC is the Union Public Service Commission at upsc.gov.in, the national body running the Civil Services Examination. UPPSC is the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission at uppsc.up.nic.in, running the state PCS.

    UPSC's one-time registration asks for a square photograph and signature, between 350 × 350 and 1000 × 1000 pixels, with its own rules about the name and date and a live photo capture step. UPPSC asks for 5 × 6 cm and 6 × 3 cm. A file prepared for one is wrong for the other in shape, in size and in what has to be written on it. If you came here searching for “UPSC photo size”, our UPSC page is here.

    UPPSC is also not UPSSSC, the Uttar Pradesh Subordinate Services Selection Commission at upsssc.gov.in. UPPSC runs the PCS; UPSSSC runs PET and Group C recruitment. They have separate one-time registrations with different requirements, and registering on one does nothing for the other.

    Other Uttar Pradesh uploads

    Same application, different file. Each has its own limits — they are not interchangeable.

    Frequently asked questions

    What photo size does UPPSC need?

    5 cm wide by 6 cm high. That figure is on the labelled diagram in UPPSC's own One Time Registration user manual, on the 'Applicant's photo and signature' panel, where the photo box is marked width = 5 cm and Height = 6 cm.

    What file size and DPI does UPPSC want?

    Less than 50 KB for the photograph and less than 30 KB for the signature, both scanned at 200 DPI in true colour. Those figures are from UPPSC's Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature, which is a separate document from the OTR user manual - the manual gives the centimetres, the guidelines give the size, DPI and colour. Because both the centimetres and the DPI are stated, the pixel size follows: 394 x 472 for the photograph and 472 x 236 for the signature.

    Does the photo have to be in colour?

    Yes. The upload control in the manual reads 'Select a latest coloured photo'. Both words matter: latest, and coloured. The tool measures saturation and warns you if your image reads as greyscale.

    How many times can I change my photo?

    Six, and it is worth taking seriously. UPPSC's amendment screen shows a running count of modification attempts - the manual's own screenshot reads that you have only 6 attempts left for modification. Replacing a photograph you were not happy with spends one of them, and once you complete Lock and Final Submit you cannot modify the entered information at all.

    Is this photo used for every UPPSC exam?

    Yes. The manual lists it as a benefit of OTR: applicants need to upload photo and signature only once, and personal details along with photo and signature are then accessible and updatable. So this single image follows you across every UPPSC application until you change it.

    I changed my OTR photo but my submitted application still shows the old one.

    That is expected. The manual describes a two-step sync: click 'Sync Your Data With OTR Server', then click 'Sync App Data' under the applied post. It also notes that modifications to an application form can only be made after the fee for that post has been paid.

    Is UPPSC the same as UPSC?

    No, and this is the most consequential confusion in Indian recruitment. UPSC is the Union Public Service Commission, upsc.gov.in, the national body. UPPSC is the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission, uppsc.up.nic.in. UPSC's registration wants a square image between 350x350 and 1000x1000 pixels; UPPSC wants 5 x 6 cm. Nothing carries across. UPPSC is also not UPSSSC, which is a separate UP body running PET and Group C.

    Is my photo uploaded to a server?

    No. The crop, the colour measurement and the compression all run in your browser on your own device. Your photograph is never transmitted.

    Source

    Requirements on this page are quoted from two official Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission documents. The One Time Registration user manual for the NIC e-Pariksha platform, linked from the OTR section of uppsc.up.nic.in, supplies the centimetres (from the labelled diagram on its Step-1 form) and the upload-control wording. “Guidelines for Scanning Photograph with Signature” supplies the file-size table, the 200 DPI setting, the true-colour requirement and the signature identity rules. The two agree on the dimensions.

    Neither document states a minimum file size, so nothing here is padded. Because both the centimetres and the DPI are stated, the pixel size follows exactly: 394×472 for the photograph and 472×236 for the signature. Figures of 180×216 and 216×108 circulate for UPPSC and work out to roughly 92 DPI — less than half what the Commission asks for.

    Neither document carries a version number. This is UPPSC, the Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission. It is not UPSC, the Union Public Service Commission (upsc.gov.in), whose specification is completely different, and not UPSSSC. We are not affiliated with any of them.